Our Mission

To promote language skills and literacy for children, beginning at birth, and to support parents as their babies’ first teachers.


Our Vision

Every family — regardless of income and primary language — will understand the critical importance of early childhood literacy and will take an active role in their child’s reading development. All children in Connecticut will have books of their own.


Board of Directors

Roxanne J. Coady, Founder and Chair
President and Owner, R. J. Julia Booksellers, Madison

Jeff Hartmann, Treasurer
Founder, CEO The Hartmann Group, Old Saybrook

Alicia Caraballo, (retired) School Administrator and Social Worker, New Haven Public Schools

Lori Church, M.S., Infant/Toddler Development, Bank Street College; Parent Mentor, Bridgeport Hospital NICU

Joshua A. Copel, M.D., Professor, Division of Maternal–Fetal Medicine, Departments of Obstetrics, Gynecology & Reproductive Sciences, and Pediatrics, Yale School of Medicine, New Haven

Joanne Cunard, Ph.D., Professor of Child Study/Education, University of St. Joseph, West Hartford

Mary Kay Curtiss, CPA, MSPA, Partner, Blum, Shapiro & Co., P.C., West Hartford

Jennifer Groves Fusco, J.D., Principal, Updike, Kelly & Spellacy, P.C., New Haven

Carla M. Horwitz, Ed.D., Lecturer, Yale Child Study Center & Department of Psychology; Director Emerita, Calvin Hill Day Care Center & Kitty Lustman-Findling Kindergarten

Lisa Maass, President,  Citizens Bank CT, New Haven

Bonnie L. Patten, J.D., Executive Director, Truth in Advertising, Inc., Branford

Sandra Trevino, Executive Director, Junta for Progressive Action, New Haven

 

Karen Pritzker, Board Emeritus

Staff

ADMINISTRATION

Kyn Tolson, Executive Director
ktolson@readtogrow.org

Robin Baker, Office Manager
rbaker@readtogrow.org

Paula Grimm, Development Associate
pgrimm@readtogrow.org

Vicki Roberts, Office Clerk
vroberts@readtogrow.org

Israel Oliveras, Driver

PROGRAMS

Books for Babies

Elizabeth Cech, Books for Babies Coordinator
ecech@readtogrow.org

Diane Visconti, Books for Babies Associate
dvisconti@readtogrow.org

Books for Kids

Linda Sylvester, Books for Kids Co-Coordinator
lsylvester@readtogrow.org

Evelyn Tomasello, Books for Kids Co-Coordinator
etomasello@readtogrow.org